AP and EMEA Accreditation Conference

22-23 June 2020 | Online

Attend With Your Team!

Purchase the first registration for 495 USD and get the next three registrations from your institution for 200 USD each.

AP and EMEA Accreditation Conference Agenda

Conference sessions are subject to change.
Session will be recorded and available to all attendees after the conference.

Monday, June 22, 2020

12:00 a.m.–01:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

06:00 a.m.–07:00 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

12:00 p.m.–01:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Asia Pacific Regional Network Meeting

Join the Asia Pacific Regional Network for a pre-conference learning opportunity. The Asia Pacific Regional Network includes representatives of AACSB member institutions facilitating information sharing and best practices in regard to quality in business research and education in the region and providing the Asia Pacific Advisory Council with issues that it might deliberate on and, at their discretion, bring to the attention of AACSB.


Responsible Management Education Affinity Group Meeting

oin the Responsible Management Education (RME) Affinity Group for a pre-conference learning opportunity. The RME Affinity Group consists of management educators committed to advancing sustainability, corporate responsibility, social entrepreneurship and innovation, the Globally Responsible Leadership Initiative (GRLI), and the Principles for Responsible Management Education (PRME). This virtual meeting will provide an opportunity for RME members to connect and share what they are up to and how they are handling today’s challenges.

Speakers:
  • Amanda Gudmundsson, Executive Dean, Queensland University of Technology

12:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

06:00 a.m.–04:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

12:00 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Exhibitor Showcase

02:00 a.m.–02:50 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

08:00 a.m.–08:50 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

02:00 p.m.–02:50 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

1: MyAccreditation Session

☙ Learn more about how myAccreditation will streamline accreditation reporting for schools, mentors, team members, and operating committee members.

Speakers:
  • Liyan Chen, Manager, Accreditation Services, AACSB International
  • Ihsan Zakri, Manager, Accreditation Services, AACSB International

03:00 a.m.–03:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

09:00 a.m.–09:30 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

03:00 p.m.–03:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

2: CEO Welcome

Join us for a welcome message from Caryn L. Beck-Dudley, President & CEO of AACSB International, and an opportunity to ask questions.

Speakers:
  • Caryn L. Beck-Dudley, President & CEO, AACSB International

03:45 a.m.–04:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

09:45 a.m.–10:45 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

03:45 p.m.–04:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

3: Moving forward after Covid 19: Perspectives on Key Challenges for 2020/2021

As Higher Education moves on from the initial impacts of COVID-19, the future remains uncertain. As Business Schools plan for 2020/21 and onwards, what are some of the key challenges? This session is in the form of a panel discussion. The panel will focus on three challenges in the current environment and present some practical perspectives and solutions. Participants will be invited to contribute alternative perspectives and viewpoints to the challenges outlined.

Speakers:
  • Joanne Powell, Senior Advisor, QED: The Accreditation Experts
  • Shqipe Gerguri - Rashiti, Dean , American University of the Middle East
  • Jamil P. Francisco, Associate Dean, Asian Institute of Management

04:45 a.m.–05:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

10:45 a.m.–11:15 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

04:45 p.m.–05:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

Speed Networking: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

05:15 a.m.–06:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

11:15 a.m.–12:15 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

05:15 p.m.–06:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

4: Initial Accreditation Q&A

If you have an upcoming Initial Accreditation visit in the next two years, this session is for you! We invite you to bring questions related to the initial accreditation process, and we will discuss the psychology of a visit, managing a visit, and what to do when the unexpected happens.

Speakers:
  • Amy Memon, Manager, Accreditation Services, AACSB International
  • Nitham M. Hindi, Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs, Qatar University
  • Simon Potts, Accreditation and Quality Assurance Manager, University of South Australia

5: Virtual CIR Visit & Q&A

In the wake of the unprecedented COVID-19 situation, AACSB has offered CIR schools with upcoming visits the option to conduct their visit virtually. If you fall into this category and are wondering how you can facilitate a smooth and productive virtual visit, this session is for you. Hear from a school that recently conducted their CIR visit in a virtual format, as well as a member of their peer review team. Presenters will share planning and visit execution strategies that will lead to a well-coordinated and smooth visit.

Speakers:
  • Ihsan Zakri, Manager, Accreditation Services, AACSB International
  • Hirokazu Kono, Former Dean, Professor of Operations Management, Keio University
  • Philip Vergauwen, Dean, Université Libre de Bruxelles

06:30 a.m.–07:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

12:30 p.m.–01:30 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

06:30 p.m.–07:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

6: Membership and Quality Assurance Information Session

Join this session to learn how you can optimally engage in the AACSB Business Education Alliance. AACSB Staff will introduce you to the member benefits and resources available, and will provide an introduction to the AACSB accreditation process.

Speakers:
  • Tara van der Hoorn, Director, Membership, AACSB International
  • Amy Memon, Manager, Accreditation Services, AACSB International

07:30 a.m.–08:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

01:30 p.m.–02:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

07:30 p.m.–08:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

Speed Networking: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

08:00 a.m.–09:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:00 p.m.–03:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:00 p.m.–09:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Middle East and North Africa Regional Network Meeting

Join the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) Regional Network for a pre-conference learning opportunity. The MENA Regional Network facilitates transfer of information and sharing of best practices in regard to quality in business education and to focus primarily on facilitating collaborative opportunities within the region; further, this group will raise issues that the Middle East and North Africa Advisory Council might deliberate on and, at their discretion, bring to the attention of AACSB. How did Schools in the MENA Region Experience the COVID-19 Crisis? What’s next?

Speakers:
  • Georges Yahchouchi, President, American University of the Middle East
  • Zeynep Gurhan Canli, Dean of CASE & Director of GSB, Koc University

09:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:00 p.m.–04:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:00 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Online Learning Affinity Group Meeting

Join the Online Learning Affinity Group for a pre-conference learning opportunity. The Online Learning Affinity Group includes faculty, administrators, and learning technologists from any member organization with interest and responsibilities in online learning. Experiences from a Large Business School on Moving Wholesale Online During COVID-19 Times

Speakers:
  • Lucian Tipi, Head of Teaching and Learning Enhancement, Sheffield Hallam University
Tuesday, June 23, 2020

10:45 p.m.–11:45 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:45 a.m.–05:45 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:45 a.m.–11:45 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

7: 2020 AACSB Business Accreditation Standards: Overview and Changes – AP region

This session will give you an opportunity to learn about the 2020 Accreditation Standards, and ask questions specific to AP region.

Speakers:
  • Stephanie M. Bryant, Executive Vice President and Chief Accreditation Officer, AACSB International
  • Geoff Perry, EVP and Chief AP Officer, AACSB International

10:45 p.m.–10:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:45 a.m.–04:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:45 a.m.–10:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Exhibitor Showcase

12:00 a.m.–01:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

06:00 a.m.–07:00 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

12:00 p.m.–01:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

8: Standard 9: Engagement and Societal Impact – AP region

Presenters will explore the new standard 9 – what are the expectations and things you need to know, as well as examples specific to schools in Asia Pacific.

Speakers:
  • Eko Suwardi, Dean, Universitas Gadjah Mada
  • Geoff Perry, EVP and Chief AP Officer, AACSB International
  • David Grant, Pro Vice Chancellor (Business), Griffith University

01:15 a.m.–02:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

07:15 a.m.–08:15 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

01:15 p.m.–02:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

9: Assessing the AoL: Perspectives and Tools for Asia Pacific region

This session explores methods and tools for assessing AoL system and discusses potential opportunities associated with the engagement of different stakeholders in the assessment process. Hear about the differences between the 2013 and 2020 Standards, as well as best practices specific to schools in Asia Pacific.

Speakers:
  • Venkata Yanamandram, Associate Professor and Director, Assurance of Learning, University of Wollongong
  • Renee B. Kim, Professor of International Business, Hanyang University & Director of KISE, School of Business, Hanyang University

02:15 a.m.–02:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

08:15 a.m.–08:45 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

02:15 p.m.–02:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

Speed Networking: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

02:45 a.m.–03:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

08:45 a.m.–09:45 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

02:45 p.m.–03:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

10: AACSB DataDirect: Your Tool for Data-Driven Decisions

AACSB's DataDirect harnesses the collective strength of the Business Education Alliance to deliver business education data and insights you won't find anywhere else. Join us to learn more about how to utilize DataDirect to benchmark your school's trends against your peers along with new features such as four different types of online program delivery methods: exclusively online, primarily online, blended/hybrid, and multi-modal now included in the BSQ program data.

Speakers:
  • Jeanine Romano, Director, Business Education Data, Benchmarking, and Analysis, AACSB International

03:50 a.m.–05:50 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

09:50 a.m.–11:50 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

03:50 p.m.–05:50 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

11: Faculty Qualifications Under the 2020 Standards: An Interactive Session

This session will focus specifically on the faculty qualifications component of Standard 3, how schools decide what disciplines are appropriate to use, and how to confidently complete that portion of Table 3-1. The session will be lively and highly interactive.

Speakers:
  • Stephanie M. Bryant, Executive Vice President and Chief Accreditation Officer, AACSB International

06:00 a.m.–07:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

12:00 p.m.–01:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

06:00 p.m.–07:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

12: Collaborative Provision, Global Degree & Program Partnerships: Look at Changes in 2020 Standards

For decades, Business Schools and Faculties throughout EMEA and Asia Pacific have enthusiastically pursued student, professor and professional staff exchanges, dual and double degree programs, franchises, and other forms of collaborative provision. However there has been continual confusion around the possible implications for accreditations. The 2020 Standards recognize these alliances very differently and the changes are dramatically supportive of our members connecting across the world and providing high quality programs to students. This session will take a closer look at the new AACSB standards and discuss a best practice approach for b-schools to achieve standards alignment and, in turn, apply the standards to deliver quality in multi-campus and multi-national programs.

Speakers:
  • Stephanie J. Morgan, Professor of Practice in Management, University of Kent
  • Keryn Chalmers, Dean, Swinburne Business School, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Timothy S. Mescon, Executive Vice President and Chief Officer for Europe, Middle East, and Africa, AACSB International

07:00 a.m.–07:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

01:00 p.m.–01:30 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

07:00 p.m.–07:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

Speed Networking: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

07:30 a.m.–08:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

01:30 p.m.–02:30 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

07:30 p.m.–08:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

13: 2020 AACSB Business Accreditation Standards: Overview and Changes – EMEA region

This session will give you an opportunity to learn about the 2020 Accreditation Standards, and ask questions specific to EMEA region.

Speakers:
  • Timothy S. Mescon, Executive Vice President and Chief Officer for Europe, Middle East, and Africa, AACSB International
  • Stephanie M. Bryant, Executive Vice President and Chief Accreditation Officer, AACSB International

08:45 a.m.–09:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:45 p.m.–03:45 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:45 p.m.–09:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

14: Engagements and Societal Impact of Business Schools: Ideas and Perspectives from EMEA

This session will focus on the proposed new Standard 9 and will share ideas and perspectives on how schools from various EMEA regions are engaging with their external stakeholders. Aspects covered include discussions on the alignment with mission, vision and expected outcomes; the range of external stakeholders; linkages with real issues of society and business practices and expected future engagements post Covid-19. Examples will be provided and ideas shared that could shape these engagements of schools going forward.

Speakers:
  • Ayesha Abdullah, Executive Dean, Higher Colleges of Technology
  • Marina Dabić, Professor, Head of AACSB's accreditation, coordinator for all FEB's accreditation, Faculty of Economics and Business, University of Zagreb
  • Elsabé Loots, Dean, University of Pretoria

10:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:00 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:00 p.m.–11:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

15: Assessing the AoL: Standards, Best Practices, and Innovative Tools from EMEA

Within the context of the American University in Cairo School of Business and Leeds University Business School this session will guide participants through the general process of AoL assessment while focusing on best practices for closing the loop. The main differences between the 2013 and 2020 AoL standards will also be highlighted. Finally, the session will showcase a new model for assessing “Career Readiness” as a learning goal through simulating a segment of the actual recruitment process of an employer.

Speakers:
  • Ahmed M. Abdel-Meguid, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies and Administration, The American University in Cairo
  • Tom Laughton, Functional Education Service Manager: Accreditation, University of Leeds