Eleven Business Schools from Six Countries Earn AACSB Accreditation

Tampa, FL, USA (November 28, 2012)—AACSB International (AACSB) announced today that eleven business schools from six countries have earned AACSB Accreditation. Founded in 1916, AACSB International is the longest serving global accrediting body for business schools that offer undergraduate, master's, and doctorate degrees in business and accounting.

By achieving this hallmark of excellence, Cardiff University (United Kingdom), ESC Rennes School of Business (France), Imperial College Business School (United Kingdom), Macquarie Graduate School of Management (Australia), Missouri University of Science and Technology (United States), National Institute of Development Administration (Thailand), Southern University at New Orleans (United States), The University of Liverpool (United Kingdom), the University of Bradford (United Kingdom), the University of Dallas (United States), and the University of Stellenbosch (South Africa) earned AACSB Accreditation in business.

Today, there are 666 business schools in 45 countries and territories that maintain AACSB Accreditation. Similarly, 178 institutions maintain an additional specialized AACSB Accreditation for their accounting programs.

"AACSB commends the deans, heads of business units, and academic and non-academic staff at each institution for their exemplary work in helping to earn the highest honor in business school accreditation," said John J. Fernandes, president and chief executive officer of AACSB International. "We are pleased to congratulate the newly accredited schools, and are excited to add them each to the roster of countries with an AACSB-accredited business school."

Achieving accreditation is a process of rigorous internal review, evaluation, and adjustment and can take several years to complete. During these years, the school develops and implements a plan to meet the AACSB Accreditation Standards which require a high quality teaching environment, a commitment to continuous improvement, and curricula responsive to the needs of businesses. In addition, as required by the AACSB Standards, all accredited schools must go through a peer review process every five years in order to maintain their accreditation.

"It takes a great deal of commitment and determination to earn AACSB Accreditation," said Fernandes. "Schools must not only meet specific standards of excellence, but their deans, heads of business units, and academic and non-academic staff must make a commitment to ongoing improvement to ensure that the institution will continue to deliver the highest quality of education to students."